La Riqueza no.6 Lancero

This one got the Leaf Enthusiast’s top pick of 2014, so I decided to give it a go.

lariqueza

Origin: Nicaragua
Wrapper: Connecticut broadleaf
Binder: Nicaragua
Filler: Nicaragua

Outwardly, it looks great. Nice little pigtail at the end. Well built. No flaking at the edges. It cut well without too much slop at the tip and it smells nice and earthy.

The first half was good. Sweet, rich and chocolatey, some yeasty brewery flavor in the first 1/3, with some vanilla mixed in for good measure, and an almost floral aroma. It paired excellently with a sweet side like Balvenie Caribbean Cask, and I believe it would work well with rum. The pepper level was just enough. Not overpowering, and a nice complement to the sweet and florals.

What I didn’t like, though, is that it went out halfway through, and after relight it was so sour, bitter, and overpoweringly spicy that it was no longer enjoyable at all. I had to snuff it and brush my teeth. Maybe I got a bad one, so before I completely demonize it I will give it another try at a future date.

At a price of $8.50-9.00 for such a little guy, it’s a shame this one ended the way it did.

Leave a comment